COUNCIL 27 OCTOBER 2005

NOTICES OF MOTION

DECISIONS

Set out below is a summary of the decisions taken at the extraordinary meeting of Council on 27 October 2005 to consider a Notice of Motion. The wording used does not necessarily reflect the actual wording that will appear in the minutes.

If you have any queries about any matters referred to in this decision sheet please contact Susan May, ext 3016.

NOTICES OF MOTION

Council **RESOLVED** that

- i) The District Council is minded to apply to the Secretary of State, that he make an Order pursuant to Section 7(4) of the Local Government Act 1972 or Section 86 of the Local Government Act 2000 to secure that the scheme for elections of Councillors for the District of South Cambridgeshire be in accordance with Section 85 (2) of the said Act and that accordingly:-
 - (a) the term of office for Councillors be four years
 - (b) that elections are held every fourth year
 - (c) all the Councillors are elected in each (election) year
 - (d) the Councillors retire together.
- ii) That parish council elections be coordinated to coincide with the four yearly District Elections.
- iii) A formal process of consultation be initiated in accordance with the Sedley Rules.

A request for names to be recorded was supported. Votes were cast as follows:

For the Motion

Dr DR Bard	RE Barrett	RF Bryant
BR Burlling	Mrs J Dixon	R Hall
Mrs JM Healey	JA Hockney	RMA Manning
DC McCraith	CR Nightingale	EJ Pateman
Mrs DP Roberts	J Shepperson	Mrs DSK Spink
RT Summerfield	TJ Wotherspoon	NIC Wright

18

Against the Motion

SJ Agnew	JD Batchelor	NN Cathcart
JP Chatfield	Mrs A Elsby	Mrs EM Heazell
SGM Kindersley	RB Martlew	MJ Mason
Mrs CAED Murfitt	Dr JPR Orme	Mrs GJ Smith
Mrs HM Smith	JH Stewart	Dr SEK van de Ven
Dr JR Williamson		

16

Not Voted

EW Bullman